RSS Feed

Simon Saved My Life Tonight, Sir Elton

Posted on

Let me preface with this. I am a child of the 80’s. And during the 80’s I prayed to a God named Simon Le Bon.

Today was one of those days where I just tried to exist. That was all I could really manage. And I didn’t manage that too well. I didn’t have to go to work, so I didn’t go anywhere. .. literally. I didn’t leave the bedroom until after dark. In fact, the furthest I got was the kitchen where Jess was making us cheeseburgers. She’s the bomb. But I’ve been in such a funk and feeling so broken that even she couldn’t get through to me. Morose and quiet, I sat on the sofa and surfed myspace. Then I saw it, like a light in a dark, long hallway… “Duran Duran announces new North America tour dates!” The little voice in my head saying, “Yeah, right, there’s no way, but go ahead, click on it, round out the day right. Disappoint yourself. You’ll never see Simon Le Bon in person. He is the forbidden fruit. You are only dreaming.”

So I clicked on it and started scrolling… May tour dates…. Las Vegas, NV, Denver, CO, Chicago, IL, Detroit, MI, Atlanta, GA, Orlando, FL, Raleigh, NC, Philadelphia, PA, Columbia, MD, Boston, MA, New York, NY…. wait a minute, rewind… Columbia, MD? Shut up! That’s right down the street! Simon Le Bon is going to be in Columbia, Maryland?!?! With his pointy hair and pouty lips, the hero of my middle school days will be singing such masteries of lyricism as “Girls on Film” and “Hungry Like the Wolf” mere minutes from the pillow where I rest my head every night? And pre-sale tickets go on sale tomorrow??? Surely, I thought immediately, I must be dreaming. I will awaken to the somber reality that Simon Le Bon will forever remain etched in my memory in his black and white leather jacket in the “Reflex” video on MTV, and not as a 50 year old aging pop star that I will actually see on stage.

But, no! It was not a dream! He will be in Columbia, Maryland in mere weeks! Tomorrow I will have the chance to pay an exorbatent amount of money to see him live and in person! Truth be told, no price tag can be put on that. He was, in my youth (alas, I am no longer in there), along with Indiana Jones and Han Solo, THE MAN! I wasn’t sure if I wanted to marry him or BE him. (I think the latter.) I plastered my walls with Teen Beat and Tiger Beat magazine posters. My 4 BFF from 7th grade and I each argued every day about who loved Duran Duran more. (BTW, I did.) And conveniently, we each had a different favorite. Ramona loved Nick, Roxanne loved John, Pam loved Andy, Angela loved Roger , and Simon was all mine.

Alas, I never had the opportunity to see them in concert in the 80’s. That would have been the highlight of my life. And so sad to peak at 12. So, I made it through my teens and twenties, even coming to some closure, believing that ship had sailed, and I missed it. Opportunities presented themselves in the past few years that didn’t work out. Then, last week, as if somewhere in my heart I knew he would be near soon, I sighed with the disappointment that most likely that Simon and I would never be in the same place at the same time… I believed I was only destined to hear him on cassette or vinyl or CD or IPOD (geez, what’s next). And I was OK with that on some level, knowing he could never be that good in person anyway. (Rationalizing my sadness.)

But it seems now I may get to find out. (And so will Jess because I’m dragging her along.)

…………..hey now, whoooo, look at that, did they nearly run you down… at the end of the drive, the lawmen arrive, you make me feel alive, alive, alive…. I’ll take my chance…. because luck is on my side, I’ll something, I know what you’re thinking, I’ll tell you something, I know what you’re thinking.

Thank you, Simon. I will be able to get out of bed tomorrow in anticipation of your arrival. And in getting up tomorrow and dealing with the world even for just that one day, I’m sure I’ll figure out how to deal with the days that follow. For if a teen idol can’t grab someone and pull them from the depths of despair and solitude, who can?
Leave a Reply

