RSS Feed

A Religion I’d Follow:

Posted on

I have a  hypothesis I want to run by you. It’s kind of out there, but just read the whole thing before you decide whether or not you think it’s bullshit. Then, if at the end you still do, go ahead and tell me. That’s fair.

First I should start by saying I consider myself agnostic. What I mean by that is that I don’t know whether or not there is a God, but I don’t believe in the one defined by modern Christianity… ie…the Bible is the Word of God. I believe it’s a moral code. And I don’t know whether it was inspired by any greater being or not. But if it was, I’m about to propose the God I would believe in and a church I would attend.

First we just have to assume that a God exists. What if God inspired the Bible all that time ago with the intention that we would take it, read it, consider society at the time it was written, learn from science over thousands of years, and then develop our own moral code, informed by facts and history, as our society matured? I know that’s crazy talk. It means that instead of being a narcissistic power freak, God would be a kind and teaching God. He would give us the room to evolve and grow as our understanding of the world grew. He wouldn’t hold us to some set of standards developed by men thousands of years ago… when slavery was normal, women were property, our understanding of science and the world was minuscule. I mean, we thought the world was flat until someone figured out it wasn’t. But the Bible said it was. How do you explain that? I can’t.

I’d like to think that if there is a God, he isn’t worried about whether I’m eating pork or shellfish, crushing on my neighbor’s wife, or attracted to the same sex. I think he’s hoping we all figure out how to live together without murder, rape, robbery. He’s hoping we just aren’t assholes. He’s hoping we keep in mind the things that are really important- the things Jesus taught: Love. Forgiveness. Compassion. Peace. Maybe he’s hoping we’ll figure out how to work together, in communities, and possibly with structured governments to ensure everyone is cared for? I know. Crazytalk.

I’d like to think if there is a God, he’s hoping we take everything he’s given us- life and a moral code… and also science and evidence… and putting it all together to create and even broader understanding of life. But we don’t seem to be doing that. We just seem as a society to be using the Bible to condemn people we don’t agree with. Meanwhile we ignore the parts of the Bible that condemn the things we think are OK. How is that following his word?

I don’t think it is.

50 responses »

  1. Pingback: Saying Nothing | Clare Flourish

  2. Thinking some of you need to read my other post: What The Bible Says About Homosexuality… And Other Things…

    Reply
  3. Simple Theologian

    Well if that’s the case about homosexuality, than I guess Christians ARE free to take multiple wives…

    Reply
    • Why?

      These are different cases. That someone would find a gay man disgusting, is in itself disgusting. That you bother, when all the universe of sin is out there for you to condemn and state the Christian position on, or whatever, shows that your motivation is at least in part your disgust at your fellow human beings. And- polygamy may be debated, on moral or practical grounds, even Biblical grounds if you really want- Joseph Smith would have disagreed- and polygamy is in the Bible, Jacob, David and others. You’ll be claiming that equal marriage will lead to people marrying animals next. No, it won’t, any more than execution of murderers (of which I disapprove) leads to execution of petty thieves. Law is more subtle than that.

      Reply
      • Simple Theologian

        How about we all (myself included) take the plank out of our own eyes before we try and take the speck out of our brother’s or sisters eye.

        I do not deny a person to live a homosexual lifestyle, it would be against their human rights, but the question is what does God say about it?

        I’m pretty sure God designed marriage as a sacred thing between a man and a woman, but if you have the actual evidence that marriage according to the Bible is anything other than that. Please show it to me?

        Because I understand the Bible to read any type of sexual intimacy outside the confines of marriage (between man and woman) is sin, and it doesn’t matter if it’s heterosexual, homosexual, or any other type.

      • Oh, I don’t mind judging you. You are wasting energy writing about how you believe homosexual lovemaking is sinful, because you are a git. Stop it, and everyone will be much happier, and you will have less to explain away when you finally realise that you are wrong.

        OK. Bible. “It is not good for the man to be alone”. That applies to gay men too, you know, God having created them that way, and they would be more alone than ever with a loveless marriage to a woman.

        Really, though, I do not care what the Bible says. You are a Bibliolater, trying to make it do what it cannot. Go away into your dull, false, shrinking church, and leave the rest of us alone.

      • Simple Theologian

        Homosexuality, like any sin is a result of the fall of man not of God’s creation. Yes, God said “It is not good for man to be alone,” God goes on to say “LET ME MAKE A HELPER FIT FOR HIM…and from Adam’s rib God MADE A WOMAN!”

        Where in the Bible does God say marriage can be between a man and a woman or a man and another man or a woman and another woman?

      • Well, clearly Adam was not gay. One size does not fit all.

        But- gay marriage in the Bible? No, there is no gay marriage in the Bible, afaik. David loved Jonathan more than women, but they did not go through a marriage ceremony, more’s the pity. Perhaps there were bigots about then too. But who cares?

        If you are going to take the plank out of your own eye, as you put it, then question yourself what your sins are, and stop pontificating about other people’s actions.

      • Simple Theologian

        I do. When it becomes clear to me that I have sinned, I repent. I understand that what I say, think, or do, might cause me to sin. And once I come to the knowledge that I was wrong, I agree that my words, thoughts, or actions were wrong and turn towards Christ’s rightness to continue to lead me.

        I’ve never claimed that I was better than anyone else, I simply have not read or been given solid evidence that according to the Bible God allows homosexuality or that He does not consider it a sin?

      • Now, you are getting even sillier. There is no sanction for voting in the Bible, nor for space flight. Why should homosexual behaviour be the only thing which must be prohibited unless the Bible specifically says it is OK?

      • Simple Theologian

        Clare, I have no problem with people choosing a lifestyle of homosexuality. I do not condemn them, I am a sinner I have no right to judge others by their choices. I am deeply sorry if that is how I came off.

        Just pray that you have read and understand the Bible the way God actually intends and I will do the same. We cannot count on what I say or what you say or what any other person says, only on what God says and Jesus says about sin. It sounds like to me that you keep trying to make it a you say this and I say this, and all I’ve been trying to say is, WHAT DOES GOD SAY ABOUT IT?

    • I am perfectly certain that God is totally cool with gay people making love. God does not object at all. God made us that way. Why would anyone choose to be gay when there is so much homophobia and persecution and, yes, condemnation in the US?

      Reply
      • Simple Theologian

        So what do these verses mean or have you chosen to ignore them?

        1 Corinthians 6:8-10

        8 But you yourselves wrong and defraud—even your own brothers![a]

        9 Or do you not know that the unrighteous[b] will not inherit the kingdom of God? Do not be deceived: neither the sexually immoral, nor idolaters, nor adulterers, nor men who practice homosexuality,[c] 10 nor thieves, nor the greedy, nor drunkards, nor revilers, nor swindlers will inherit the kingdom of God.

        1 Timothy 1:9-11

        9 understanding this, that the law is not laid down for the just but for the lawless and disobedient, for the ungodly and sinners, for the unholy and profane, for those who strike their fathers and mothers, for murderers, 10 the sexually immoral, men who practice homosexuality, enslavers,[a] liars, perjurers, and whatever else is contrary to sound[b] doctrine, 11 in accordance with the gospel of the glory of the blessed God with which I have been entrusted.

      • Go and read the link I cited earlier. It is somewhere in this thread. The verses condemn homosexual violence, as we would condemn heterosexual violence.

        But if they condemn all homosexual acts, then they are simply wrong. The Bible is wrong about all sorts of things. “I have been young, and now am old, yet never have I seen the Righteous forsaken, nor their children begging their bread.” Wrong. Bad things happen to good people. Even if you are not one of those New Earth Creationists, complete nutcases, and understand the Bible contains myth, story and metaphor as well as literal fact, there are multiple instances where the Bible is simply wrong. And did Jesus allow divorce for adultery, or not? The Gospels are inconsistent.

      • And- why do I speak to you so rudely? Because I hate you. You meddle with things you do not understand, and by doing so you fill people of good will with disgust for the Church and even for Christ, and you cause needless misery and suffering to gay people. You, and a shrinking but vociferous minority. Stop it.

  4. Simple Theologian

    I hope to clarify my position if any of my comments have come off as hurtful. Homosexuality is not the issue at hand, because it would be the same if I was angry towards someone or if I would check out a woman who isn’t my wife, the issue is sin in ALL forms.

    As I follow Jesus I am learning more about taking the plank out of my own eye before the speck out of my brothers eye. To me I come to understand this as don’t be sure of your “rightness’ to the point that you hate, judge, or condemn others. But this also does not allow me to sit around and say nothing when Christ is being made into something He is not according to the Bible (Old and New Testament) so that we can continue in sin.

    Reply
  5. I think you’re on to something. Nearly every person who acknowledges an aversion to homosexuality does so on the basis of what he or she believes the Bible has to say. In their mind, there is no doubt whatsoever about what the Bible says and what the Bible means. Their general argument goes something like this: Homosexuality is an abomination and the homosexual is a sinner. Homosexuality is condemned in both the Old and New Testaments. Therefore, if we are to be faithful to the clear teachings of Scripture we too must condemn homosexuality. Needless to say, this premise is being widely debated among evangelicals today and seriously challenged by biblical scholars, theologians and religious leaders everywhere.

    It rarely occurs to any of us that our reading of Scripture is profoundly colored by our own cultural context and worldview. In light of the post above and since I happen to speak and write on this topic, I thought you might find some of these posts of particular interest and relevance. I would particularly recommend the following:

    “Genesis 19: What Were the Real Sins of Sodom?
    “Leviticus 18: What Was the Abomination?”
    “Romans 1: What Was Paul Ranting About?”
    “Romans 2: Paul’s Bait and Switch”
    “Genesis 1: Turning the Creation Story into an Anti-Gay Treatise”
    “Why No One in the Biblical World Had a Word for Homosexuality”
    “Exegesis: Not For the Faint in Heart”

    (Links to these and more may be found by simply clicking the link below and then selecting the “Archives” page.)

    -Alex Haiken
    http://JewishChristianGay.wordpress.com

    Reply
    • “Needless to say, this premise is being widely debated among evangelicals today and seriously challenged by biblical scholars, theologians and religious leaders everywhere.”

      Just curious, by who exactly?

      Reply
      • Oh, come on! By Christians of good will, who are not bigotted homophobes. For example, here is a good summary of the arguments, a bit of Hebrew and Greek, no pretense to originality but quotes the right stuff. http://wordofawoman.com/tag/homosexuality/

      • For starters, you can begin with Lewis B. Smedes who said in part: “The Church’s treatment of homosexuality has become the greatest heresy in the history of the church.” He went on to say, “It’s a living heresy, because it’s treating God’s children as if they’re not God’s children. The church isn’t just making a mistake. It’s doing a great wrong. The church’s whole biblical reason for excluding gays and lesbians from its fellowship is all wrong. And not only wrong, it is cruel, mean and devastating.”

        For 25 years, Smedes was on staff at Fuller Theological Seminary, where he served as chairman of the Department of Theology and Ethics. In 2001, he was honored with the creation of the Lewis B. Smedes Chair of Christian Ethics at Fuller. The Theological Seminary professor emeritus was also the author of over a dozen best-selling Christian books and continued to write and speak on what he considered the Church’s misled stance on homosexuality until his death in 2002.
        When you’re done with Smedes, we can move on to many more.

        -Alex Haiken
        http://JewishChristianGay.wordpress.com

      • Thanks! As you can probably imagine, I disagree, but thanks for the info.

      • No problem, nonprogressive. You certainly retain the right to close your eyes to it, but the fact does remain: “this premise is [indeed] being widely debated among evangelicals today and seriously challenged by biblical scholars, theologians and religious leaders everywhere.”

        I have a question for you too: What would it take for you to accept that the doctrine of those who, like yourself, read their antigay presuppositions into the the biblical texts is only the most recent doctrinal position well on the way to being generally acknowledged as a mistake of the kind we Christians often had to acknowledge over our 2,000 years of Church history? The list of these doctrinal errors, as you well know, is endless. Problem is while it may seem evident to us that others did terrible things in the past, it isn’t always so easy to see that we ourselves may be doing terrible things today.

        -Alex Haiken
        http://JewishChristianGay.wordpress.com

  6. Words are important. They have meaning. I find it disturbing that they are thrown around these days with dangerous lack of precision leading to ignorance and hate.

    I rejoice in your persecution of me because the Bible is on my side. I rejoice that i live in a country where i am free to express my opinion and to champion the truth over lies of the devil which you seem to have some knowledge of. The truth is that you don’t hate me. You hate Jesus. These are his opinions and I follow him.

    I have friends that struggle with homosexuality and follow Jesus as I do. It is a lie that homosexuals are “born that way.” This is nothing more than a way of covering a biblically prohibited behavior with societal acceptability. I feel it is harmful to children. That disgusts me, and I refuse to stand idly by the wayside.

    Reply
    • Really? Jesus condemned homosexual behaviour? When? As I am a Christian, I cannot remember anything like that in the Bible.

      St Paul said Onesimus was “his own heart”. Go figure. And there was the disciple whom Jesus loved.

      Reply
      • Simple Theologian

        The comments of St. Paul and Jesus are taken out of context. It does not refer to love in a sensual way (In Greek there are 4 words that can be translated into the English word “love”)

        Also, Jesus did not come to condemn the world but to SAVE it.

        Homosexuality is like adultery or lust. The consideration of sexual sin could be defined as…Any acts or thoughts pertaining to a lustful desire or any type of sexual intimacy with someone who is not your spouse (only marriage covenant recognized by God is between a man and woman) and sexual sin could be defined between husband and wife as anything pertaining to a type of sexual abuse.

        The only type of behavior Jesus condemned publicly was to those who were counting on their own righteousness and not Jesus’.

    • Simple Theologian

      Perhaps we can raise the Biblical argument towards sin (including homosexuality) as even if they are born that way, God wants to redeem them from it! (John 9:1-3 the man born blind)

      Reply
    • the Old Testament isn’t Jesus’ opinion. In fact, Jesus never said anything about most of the things in the Old Testament. And he certainly never said anything about homosexuality. So if you feel homosexuality is a sin, you follow the Old Testament, which means, you also must not wear clothes of mixed fibers, eat shellfish or pork, work on Sundays, allow any male near you when you are menstruating- or go near a woman when she is if you are male, and you must believe fortune-tellers, adulterers and disobedient slaves should be stoned. If you’re going to preach the Bible, learn the Bible.

      Reply
      • This is an all too common misunderstanding of mainstream Christian theology. What I mean by mainstream is Catholic, Protestant, Eastern Oorthodox, etc. God is a trinity including the Father, Son, and Holy Spirit. Christians believe that Jesus Christ is part of the trinity, the Son. Christians believe Jesus is God. Therefore the OT applies as much as the new. The misunderstood part is that Jesus reveals that no man is able to judge another properly due to our sin. All have sinned and so all deserve punishment, and the concept includes all the prohibitions you listed above. The beauty of Christ is that he accepted and suffered through all the punishment that we deserve. Christians don’t stone people because we are not innocent. ‘let he who is without sin cast the first stone.’ God however is able to righteously punish those who break his laws, and will do so one day.

        I am not a theologian but this is a summary of the Christian view of the Old Testament which is that it definitely applies to all people. The bible is one book telling the story of one God.

  7. I am a Christian, and bisexual (on the gay side of the spectrum). The way I see it, the purpose of religion is not to tell you what to believe, but to create a discussion around certain topics. I really recommend that you try an Episcopalian or Presbyterian church if you want to find a church like you described. They really go for the ‘peace and justice’ side of Christianity, and are usually liberal enough to have openly gay people in their congregation.

    Reply
    • Simple Theologian

      I tell you this out of a sincere heart for you to understand the truth of Christ. What we were before we met Christ cannot be the same after we accept Christ…

      A Christian must die to his previous lifestyle and be raised in Christ-like lifestyle by faith. Paul before Christ killed Christians…after He accepted Christ, he stopped killing Christians and completely changed the way he lived life.

      Before I met Christ I struggled with sexual sin…after I accepted Christ I allowed Christ to make me a person of sexual integrity.

      Either die to yourself (bisexuality/homosexuality) and live for Christ.

      Or

      Live for yourself and die to Christ (claiming Christianity)

      Reply
      • Jesus never said anything about homosexuality. That was the Old Testament, which said a lot of things about many commonly practiced things today. Just a minor detail when preaching about Jesus.

      • I appreciate your concern, ST. But do you know anything about my lifestyle? (If you want to, you might like to check out my blog to get something of an idea.) I actually found Christ kind of in parallel to my coming out. The person I was before was certainly not the person I am, afterwards.

        None of us can claim perfection, and I am sure that there are things you continue to do that are less than Christ-like. I live a life of, what I consider to be, sexual integrity. That is, I do not party or sleep around, and do my best to think right. I cannot die to my sexual orientation; but neither am I ruled by it. I do my best to allow Christ to be my ruler.

        But to be honest, I think he wants us to be able to think for ourselves. That is, to follow him while retaining our personhood. Jesus always gave his disciples the chance to think and figure things out, even when they seemed to be getting everything wrong. I think he gives us all that privilege too. I don’t believe that gives us ‘the right to sin’, (‘Shall we go on sinning, so that grace may abound? By no means!’) but it does mean that we have the right to be wrong, even when we walk in Christ.

      • Simple Theologian

        You are right, Jesus gives us the freedom to make mistakes and not having to worry about making ourselves right with God, He does that. But He also calls us higher like you say (“Shall we go on sinning, so that grace may abound? By no means!”) Jesus gives us many chances once you begin following Him to identify our wrongness against His teachings (which is to completely change from the idea that “I am right about this or that”) and align ourselves with His rightness (that is to say “I am wrong by nature against God and must rely everything I believe in on Jesus”). Jesus and Christianity is not something someone can claim as their own, it belongs to Christ.

        Your Christian belief is not to believe what I say without questioning it but it also does not mean because this is what I believe myself to be I will not compare it to what the Bible and Christ says.

        What following Jesus means is that we live life Up (Worshiping God), In (With people who believe and will challenge us in our thinking and understanding of the Bible), and Out (Sharing the Love of Christ with those who don’t believe and are led by the Holy Spirit with those who are ripe to hear the message of Christ). Loving God and loving others.

      • Simple Theologian

        I just want to add, that I am not able to judge you for who you are…I might be the one who is wrong. But my encouragement is for you and me to constantly bring everything before Christ and allow Him to reveal area’s we ARE wrong: about ourselves, others, or God.

        It is that continually action we must do to become more like Christ.

        As I spoke, it was never to condemn but to allow you to think not as yourself but as Christ. And yes we maintain our individuality but we becoming more of what God wants. As Paul also wrote Romans 12:1-2,
        “I appeal to you therefore, brothers, by the mercies of God, to present your bodies as a living sacrifice, holy and acceptable to God, which is your spiritual worship. Do not be conformed to this world, but be transformed by the renewal of your mind, that by testing you may discern what is the will of God, what is good and acceptable and perfect.”

      • Yup. Bearing that in mind though, I just want to point out that you can really offend people who consider themselves to be gay, lesbian or bisexual by asking them to ‘die to their sexuality’ and not to live ‘in sexual sin’. I understand where you’re coming from, but there is a lot of pain around this area in many GLB people. It’s left a thorn in the side of many people that needs to be eased out gently. I really recommend looking into the work of the Marin project to see what this could look like.

      • Simple Theologian

        While Jesus never said anything about homosexuality is a true statement, but a Biblical example is this:

        John 8:2-11 ~ “Early in the morning he came again to the temple. All the people came to him, and he sat down and taught them. The scribes and the Pharisees brought a woman who had been caught in adultery, and placing her in the midst they said to him, “Teacher, this woman has been caught in the act of adultery. Now in the Law Moses commanded us to stone such women. So what do you say?” This they said to test him, that they might have some charge to bring against him. Jesus bent down and wrote with his finger on the ground. And as they continued to ask him, he stood up and said to them, “Let him who is without sin among you be the first to throw a stone at her.” And once more he bent down and wrote on the ground. But when they heard it, they went away one by one, beginning with the older ones, and Jesus was left alone with the woman standing before him. Jesus stood up and said to her, “Woman, where are they? Has no one condemned you?” She said, “No one, Lord.” And Jesus said, “Neither do I condemn you; go, and from now on sin no more.”

        Was the woman caught in sin? Yes!
        How does Jesus reply? “…go, and from now on sin no more.”
        How does the woman respond? By complete devotion to Jesus and not what man thinks is right or wrong but what God thinks is right or wrong.

        http://www.biblegateway.com/passage/?search=Romans%203:9-20&version=ESV (part of 20) “…since through the law comes knowledge of sin.”

        Essentially, if Jesus perfectly upheld the law to be THE atoning sacrifice for it, than He agrees fully with the law and all that it says sin is. So simply because he doesn’t say something about it doesn’t mean He is void in a stance on it.

  8. If God really were like the homophobic Evangelicals say, who would want to go to Heaven?

    Reply
    • I don’t know any evangelicals who say God is homophobic. The reality is quite the opposite. God loves everyone- He is love. Homosexuality is a behavior which God hates. Somehow over the last several years a sexual behavior has evolved into a demographic, and this is indicative of our moral decline.

      Reply
      • Thank you for answering my comment.

        I hate you. You disgust me. You cause needless suffering (though I am sure you deny it) and play pointless word games.

        However, history is on my side. In twenty years you will feel shame that you ever thought as you now do- or you will be alone in a tiny, shrinking and devil-inspired sect of the Church. I hope it is the former.

    • Simple Theologian

      Consider that to God everyone person who ever lived is sin…regardless of the good or bad life they lived compared to other people or the choices that they make about the lifestyle they live…the only exception being the Son of God, Jesus Christ, who was God and man and lived the only human existence according to God’s standards.

      While God made us aware of what He calls sin (i.e. the Ten Commandments and so forth) He never intended for man to be the authority on it…that is also sin to God (i.e. man attempting to take the place of God).

      This is why Jesus died: to act as a sacrifice worthy of God because of Jesus’ life.

      Jesus’ resurrection then becomes hope, our sin is removed and we have a way back to God for eternity. We cannot use our hope against others, to do so makes a mockery of what God has done. Our hope is not of things on earth but of things for all eternity.

      Reply
      • If you believe the word of God is immutable that is admirable, as it must mean you do not wear clothing of mixed fiber, eat pork or shellfish, work on Sunday, lie, ever, be near a woman when she is menstruating, or cut your beard if you are male. Also, you should be petitioning for Newt and Calista Gingrich to be stoned for adultery… which is the obvious punishment according to God’s word.

      • Simple Theologian

        OT shows us the standard by which God desires us to live by.
        NT shows us God’s love in spite of our inability to uphold God’s standard.
        NT also shows us a better way to live: by not holding on to our “rightness.”

        I could be completely wrong on some issue and need to have a community of people devoted to Jesus around me to call me out on it.

  9. Simple Theologian

    Very interesting thoughts.

    We cannot make God something He is not. But if we can develop a deeper understanding of who He actually is through understanding the Bible and relying on Christ’s work and the work of the Holy Spirit in and through our lives we will get there.

    I think you are right that the way many people perceive the God of the Bible is as this negative…don’t do that or you’re go to hell. But reality is God is perfect Love and Goodness.

    Christ teaches us the highest moral code: Love God and Love Others, which is to say do no wrong against God or another in action or in thought.

    Finally, God knowing that we could never save (be reconciled back to Him) ourselves. Allowed Himself in His Son Jesus, to take our place. This is the demonstration of the type of Love we are supposed to respond with. To die to our own righteousness and love God freely with everything we have been given and love others in the same way.

    Reply
    • Nothing you say about Christianity has any value, for it is entirely vitiated by your hatred for gay people. And don’t come out with all that rubbish about loving the sinner, abhorring the sin, or that it is God who condemns homosexual behaviour: you hate gay people. Otherwise you would just let us get married like other folks. You oppress us because you hate us. So you drive people away from Christ, because they falsely imagine that He and his followers are all as bigotted and hate-filled as you. Repent!

      Reply
      • Simple Theologian

        When have I ever oppressed you?

        All I have stated is do not make Christ, God, or the Bible something that it is not,.

        Could I be wrong? Yes, but that is for Christ to convict me of repentance through the Holy Spirit as I follow Him. Christians are not in charge of judging others, I have only tried to make my understanding of the word of God clear. If you don’t believe me because I might be wrong be directed towards the word of God itself, otherwise you have simply judged me as wrong and yourself as right.

  10. I do agree with your assumption. There is a God…pretty sure he doesn’t appreciate you changing him into someone he is not. Does it make sense that if there is a God you can decide what he will permit or not permit? An omniscient omnipotent being decides what is permitted and not permitted. Whether we like it or not. If we can decide our own definition of what God is…then it’s not really God anymore, but just your own fantasy.

    People need to stop making up their own gods.

    Reply
    • That’s precisely what the Bible is. People making up their own God. They created a God that condoned slavery and ownership of women. If that’s YOUR God, you can have “him.” Open your mind. I think God, if he/she/it is out there, that’s what he/she/it would want.

      Reply
      • “That’s precisely what the Bible is. People making up their own God.” I quite agree. I think it’s important to take an organic approach to the Bible though: it means to you, what it means to you. Just reflect on the question, ‘what does it mean for the Bible to be the word of God?’ It is possible to read and take the Bible seriously, without feeling that every line should be directly applied word-for-word right now, to me in my life. And that doesn’t mean that we may go around walloping people over the head with our own understanding of it. (This goes as much for that statement that ‘If you really believed in the Bible you wouldn’t eat shellfish’, as people who say ‘If you really believed in the Bible, you wouldn’t be gay’.)

  11. What a beautiful and thought provoking post.

    Reply
  12. Not bullshit in my opinion! Well said. I especially liked “I think God is hoping we all figure out how to live together without murder, rape, robbery.” I feel the same way. It’s up to us to get it right.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

